Wheelchair Rugby

Wheelchair Rugby

  • Rugby is open to quadriplegics (often referred to as quad rugby or murderballMurderball (officially called Wheelchair Rugby or Quad-Rugby) is a sport open to quadriplegics which is unique to the Paralympics. It is a high contact wheelchair sport which was invented by the Canadians in the 1970's.).
  • It is unique to the Paralympic Games.
  • This high-contact wheelchair sport was invented by Canadians in the 1970’s.
  • Rugby became a full medal sport in Sydney in 2000.
  • The Australian Wheelchair Rugby Team are called the SteelersAustralian Wheelchair Rugby Team and Silver Medalists at the Beijing Paralympic Games in 2008.!


Watch the Steelers in action below!




ClassificationAthletes are classified by classifiers into classes by their ability to function. The aim is to ensure that athletes of similar ability compete against one another.

  • Wheelchair rugby athletes are classified using a points system, with the most severely disabled athletes being graded at 0.5 points, rising to 3.5 points for the more able.
  • Each team is comprised of four players and is allowed a maximum of eight points on court at any one time.

Click on the below image to watch a short video on Wheelchair Rugby Classification:



For more Wheelchair Rugby action, click on the below TV:


Wheelchair Rugby PTV